Schengen Area

Portugal is part of the Schengen Area, a group of 26 European Countries which have abolished all border controls between each other. Hence, most citizens of the EU, the European Economic Area (EEA – Andorra, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) as well as Switzerland need only an identity card in order to enter Portugal.


Other Countries

For short stays (up to 90 days) visitors from the following countries can enter Portugal with Passport Only:

  • Argentina,
  • Australia,
  • Bolivia,
  • Brazil,
  • Brunei,
  • Bulgaria,
  • Canada,
  • Chile,
  • Costa Rica,
  • Croatia,
  • El Salvador,
  • Guatemala,
  • Honduras,
  • Israel,
  • Japan,
  • Malaysia,
  • Mexico,
  • Monaco,
  • New Zealand,
  • Nicaragua,
  • Panama,
  • Paraguay,
  • Romania,
  • San Marino,
  • Singapore,
  • South Korea,
  • United States of America,
  • Uruguay, Vatican,
  • Venezuela and
  • Special Administrative Regions of the People’s Republic of China in Hong Kong and Macao.

Citizens from countries not mentioned above need a VISA to enter Portugal.


This list may change, so you should confirm with your local Portuguese Embassy or Consulate.